Why being a freelance (entrepreneurial) journalist in my early years helped my career

FATBIDIN.COM

IMG_2878_watermarked

I’m not that old, but I’m not that young either. I have a career that has spanned 14 years now, and sometimes, I feel the urge to share my experiences with people.

And that’s why I like giving advice to young people. That’s one of the reasons why I love teaching (I’ve been teaching undergrads for 10 years now and conducted numerous workshops).

One of the most common advice I dish out to young journalists (whether they like it or not!) is that they need to put themselves out in the world. Go out and be a freelance journalist.

Too many young journalists like to begin their career as full time staff at news organisations. I’m not saying that this is wrong. In fact, I started out as a full time rookie journalist too.

news

But I soon left the comfort of full time employment and became a freelance journalist. I…

View original post 433 more words

Leave a Reply

